Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Foster Nominated for SJHL MVP Award

Written by: Rory McGouran

Logan Foster is one of three players in the running for the Most Valuable Player in the SJHL.

The nominees were voted on by the coaches around the league and were announced on Tuesday, February 18th. Foster, who represents the Global Ag Risk Division, is joined by Yorkton’s Chantz Petruic and Flin Flon’s Cole Rafuse. Each award is represented by one player from each division.

Foster has been the motor that drives the offence for the Humbodlt Broncos all season long. He has suited up for every game this year, accumulating a team-high 69 points (27g, 42a) through 54 games played.

There will always be a debate regarding the difference between the Player of the Year Award and the MVP. Added emphasis for the MVP lies on the value that the individual brings to their respective team, and how drastically different the landscape would look with them absent. In the end, it may be tough to pry the award from Yorkton’s Chatz Petruic, who leads the league with 55 goals and 104 points. However, there may not be a more valuable player to their team than Logan Foster is to the Humboldt Broncos.

The final three will be voted on and decided by media members of the league.

Here are the rest of the end-of-year award nominees:


Sherwood Divison – Cole Rafuse – Flin Flon Bombers

Ag Risk Division – Logan Foster – Humboldt Broncos

Viterra Divison – Chantz Petruic – Yorkton Terriers

Player of the Year

Sherwood Divison – Alec Malo – Flin Flon Bombers

Ag Risk Division – Quinton Loon-Stewardson – Battlefords North Stars

Viterra Divison – Chantz Petruic – Yorkton Terriers

Goalie of the Year

Sherwood Divison – Liam McGarva – La Ronge Ice Wolves

Ag Risk Division – Riley Kohonick – Notre Dame Hounds

Viterra Divison – Berk Berkeliev – Melville Millionaires

Defenseman of the Year

Sherwood Divison – Alex Rondeau – Melfort Mustangs

Ag Risk Division – Matthew Fletcher – Battlefords North Stars

Viterra Divison – Devan Harrison – Estevan Bruins

Rookie of the Year

Sherwood Divison – Tristan Lemyre – Flin Flon Bombers

Ag Risk Division – Karter McNarland – Humboldt Broncos

Viterra Divison – Griffin Asham-Moroz – Estevan Bruins