Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League Battlefords North Stars Estevan Bruins Flin Flon Bombers Humboldt Broncos Kindersley Klippers La Ronge Ice Wolves Melfort Mustangs Melville Millionaires Nipawin Hawks Notre Dame Hounds Weyburn Red Wings Yorkton Terriers

Broncos ground Red Wings


The Weyburn Red Wings opened the scoring Friday in Humboldt but the Broncos finished it cruising to a 4-1 victory.

Jordan Kazymyra beat Parker Tobin just 3:32 into the contest giving the Wings a 1-0 lead. The Broncos’ top line went to work in the opening period, Logan Schatz scored his 19th of the season and first of the night at the 9:07 mark. Nick Shumlanski was credited with the lone assist. The game was tied 1-1 after the first period. Assistant coach Chris Beaudry said the team responded well after the early goal.

“I liked how poised and focused our bench stayed. The players knew they were playing well so they kept at it,” he said.

Jaxon Joseph made it 2-1 five-minutes into the second period from Stephen Wack. Joseph’s 26th of the year was the game winner. Shumlanski added his 16th from Schatz and Joseph making the score 3-1. Schatz notched his 20th of the campaign with just under a minute to play in the middle period. The top line trio of Joseph, Schatz, and Shumlanski combined for seven points. Beaudry said the entire roster deserves some credit.

“Offensively, Logan, Jaxon and Nick are producing well but all our lines are playing well. The extended offensive zone time that Matthieu Gomercic, Derek Patter, and Jacob Leicht had tonight wore Weyburn down,” Beaudry said.

Tobin was victorious in the Humboldt net, the reigning goaltender of the week stopped 19 shots, Arik Weersink made 38 stops on 42 Bronco chances.

The teams meet Saturday night in Humboldt again to close the season series. The home team has won all three games. The Broncos are now 28-16-3-2 on the year, they sit comfortably in fifth-place overall. The green and gold are 8-2 in their last 10 games.

Following Saturday’s game the team will hold their annual shoot-out.